Linguistically Speaking

The 100 Best First Lines of Novels

http://www.litline.org/ABR/100bestfirstlines.html

An interesting compilation - though I don't really think the Moby Dick-opening deserves the first rank, there are many others I prefer (n. 2 would certainly be among the top openings for me).

The list also makes good exam preparation - quite a lot of these books are on the reading list, so you can check how many you recognize ;-)

And as a good way to recall all the books, we could compile our own list for the exam stuff!
si1ja - 31. Jan, 23:51

Interesting! I agree with your remark about the order of the ranking - some of them I don't really find that exceptional, I have to say (or maybe they are only exceptional if one has read the book?). I was actually a bit surprised that not more of our books were on the list!

I think it would be fun to compile our own list - takes a lot of time, though!

barbara... - 8. Feb, 16:11

I think most of them really are exceptional only in connection with the text they 'introduce' - I really like the first sentence of The Wings of the Dove (#74), but only now I've started reading the book and think that it is very telling about the author's style and tone...
si1ja - 10. Feb, 01:48

Yeah I guess that's it. I'm sure even the most brilliant first sentence would not make it on the list if people did not like the book itself.
 
Cartoons
Deutsche Literatur
Dialectology
Discourse Analysis
Entertainment
Feministische Linguistik
Global English
Highlight Quotes
Images
Links
Metaphor Theory
Narrative Theory
Nobel Prize Laureates
Pidgins & Creoles
Poems
Teaching
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog