Linguistically Speaking

Harold Pinter about Language

The speech we hear is an indication of that which we don't hear. It is a necessary avoidance, a violent, sly, and anguished or mocking smoke screen which keeps the other in its true place. When true silence falls we are left with echo but are nearer nakedness. One way of looking at speech is to say that it is a constant stratagem to cover nakedness.

(quoted in the Norton Anthology of English Literature, vol. II, 6th ed, p. 2362)
barbara... - 28. Jun, 10:51

(this actually makes even more sense for Beckett's plays, especially the later ones. Pinter is almost realistic in comparison - there is actually something like a plot in 'The Dumb Waiter')

si1ja - 29. Jun, 14:23

Maybe he doesn't like being naked ;-). Great quote!

barbara... - 12. Jul, 17:02

Have you read the Dumb Waiter yet? Did you like it?
si1ja - 14. Jul, 09:33

no, I haven't read it yet. just picked it because it was in the Norton Anthology. how bout you?
barbara... - 14. Jul, 16:32

I have, and I liked it surprisingly well (I'm not that much into the theatre of the absurd - it often gets too 'non-sensical' for me). It's actually even more 'realistic' than Waiting for Godot, I think - there's more of a plot, and that actually makes it more poignant for me (Endgame, for example, is rather too absurd and disconnected for my personal taste - I do think it's fascinating to do theatre in that way, but to simply read it is a bit...strenuous?).
si1ja - 17. Jul, 11:31

Ok! Certainly looking forward to reading it now! I loved Beckett's plays, but was also glad that they were so short - nonsense can indeed be very strenous!
 
Cartoons
Deutsche Literatur
Dialectology
Discourse Analysis
Entertainment
Feministische Linguistik
Global English
Highlight Quotes
Images
Links
Metaphor Theory
Narrative Theory
Nobel Prize Laureates
Pidgins & Creoles
Poems
Teaching
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog