Linguistically Speaking

On measuring value

a-degree-in-english-cartoon
si1ja - 13. Jun, 15:16

:-)

Absolutely.
Walked by a restaurant on the way to school today and seriously considered going inside and talking to the owner when I saw the menue board outside with the "Tageshit's". Dropped the thought after realizing that grammatical correctness might not be quite as important to a restaurant manager as it is to me.
Also considered cutting my students some slack for having to learn the correct forms when this is what they see on their way to school.

barbara... - 14. Jun, 14:22

I know that impulse very well! And all those teenage-bands called "the streetrocker's" and "the starduster's" (ok I admit I made those two up.. but I can't think of any actual names and I think you get the idea).

(I hope I've broken the posting-blockade now that I actually posted something again!)

si1ja - 15. Jun, 09:04

I hope so too!

Though I didn't know that you liked boy bands. :-=)
sarin1a - 26. Jun, 10:06

:D

(Villicht isch das na interessant für eu.)

si1ja - 26. Jun, 14:27

Illusione...

The worst one so far just reached me by email today:

"Dear Ms Ang,
thank’s a lot for the revised paper."

PS: D Siite findi recht cool - de isch würkli Lehrer mit Herz und Seel (bi mir ischs ehnder: was nid isch cha ja na werde).
 
Cartoons
Deutsche Literatur
Dialectology
Discourse Analysis
Entertainment
Feministische Linguistik
Global English
Highlight Quotes
Images
Links
Metaphor Theory
Narrative Theory
Nobel Prize Laureates
Pidgins & Creoles
Poems
Teaching
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog