Linguistically Speaking

Notes

"Love (understood as the desire of good for another) is in fact so unnatural a phenomenon that it can scarcely repeat itself, the soul being unable to become virgin again and not having energy enough to cast itself out again into the ocean of another's soul."

Notes (1913) made by James Joyce for his play Exiles
barbara... - 20. Aug, 11:53

??

So you could only ever wish good to one person?

Guess I'm unnatural then ;-)!

(and hey, we were/are online at the same time!)

si1ja - 20. Aug, 13:53

'Repeat itself' implies, in my opinion, a break - maybe if you stop loving (in his definition), you can never start again. And, according to Joyce, you're unnatural already if you wish good to one person. Which is sort of true, I suppose, as even if we want good things to happen to other people, especially the ones around us, we would maybe not like it if better things kept happening to them than to us. I.e.: if you win the lottery once, I'll be very happy for you, if you win five times, I'll be a wee bit jealous and will just keep being friends with you because I can stay at your holiday house in Malibu. :-)

I realized that we were online at the same time! And not just you and me - it's getting crowded here! :-). Guess none of us has anything better to do on this rainy Sunday...
barbara... - 23. Aug, 20:43

But just because I'll be jealous doesn't mean I won't wish for you to have good things happen to you! (And it wouldn't be too bad to have a friend with a holiday house in Malibu, I think (though I wouldn't be very likely to get one, as you'd have to fly there, so you don't have to worry ;-))) And the way he puts it you don't have to wish for better things to happen to others, just for good ones.

(And well, I'm always a little suspicious when people claim that something is 'unnatural'. Maybe that's why I feel a strong urge to contradict!)
si1ja - 26. Aug, 17:23

Really? I feel the urge to contradict more strongly when it is claimed that sth is 'natural'...

Oh, and I'd come and visit you in Southern France, too!
 
Cartoons
Deutsche Literatur
Dialectology
Discourse Analysis
Entertainment
Feministische Linguistik
Global English
Highlight Quotes
Images
Links
Metaphor Theory
Narrative Theory
Nobel Prize Laureates
Pidgins & Creoles
Poems
Teaching
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog